Aberdeen is a new collaboration between cellist Sonia Cromarty and composer David Fennessy. Featuring cello, electronics, found sounds and live video, Aberdeen explores memory, place and family-ties through the deeply personal story of the instrument being played, a cello built in part by Sonia‚Äôs father.  

Aberdeen premiered at Spitalfields Festival in July 2021. It was also performed at Sound Festival in Aberdeen on 23 October 2021.

Aberdeen was co-commissioned by Spitalfields Music and sound, in partnership with the Royal Philharmonic Society, through the generous support of an anonymous donor. 

David Fennessy  Composer
Sonia Cromarty    Cello
Tim Cooper Electronics
Nicholas Bone Dramaturg

David Fennessy previously collaborated with Magnetic North on Pass the Spoon and took part in Rough Mix in 2006.

Aberdeen has been commissioned by Spitalfields Festival and Sound Aberdeen and is being developed and co-produced by Magnetic North.

Photo of shed interior

Video & Audio

Aberdeen trailer

Discussion about the project - sound festival January 2021